Author Topic: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?  (Read 8107 times)

notgreat

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« on: July 28, 2009, 03:49:42 PM »
I'm making a puzzle where pipes are stacked on top of one another, but not connected.  However, the finishcondition that I have (maximum 3 leaks) is failing to trigger.  In the solution, I have a layer 1 pipe with steam but the layer 2 pipe without- is this causing a bug, or is there something else I'm missing.  Attached is the puzzle file that I'm working on- just move the pipes down to get 2 leaks, but nothing happens.  Any help would be appreciated.

admin

  • Rob
  • Administrator
  • Widgeteer
  • *****
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2009, 11:54:58 PM »
The NUMLEAKS condition only gets triggered when the number of leaks is an exact match.  If you change it from 3 to 2, then everything works.  If you want to find a solution with either 2 OR 3 leaks, then you'll need to use an OR condition:
FINISHCONDITION or 2 {
  GROUP 1 {
    FINISHCONDITION leakcount {
      NUMLEAKS 2
    }
  }
  GROUP 1 {
    FINISHCONDITION leakcount {
      NUMLEAKS 3
    }
  }
}

I hope that's helpful.

  - Rob

notgreat

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2009, 10:58:36 AM »
Yes, thank you.  You might want to update your documentation though, because it says
"leakCount: Check for no more than the given number of allowed leaks."
which makes you think that it is a maximum.

Again, thank you for your help and for this excellent game!

admin

  • Rob
  • Administrator
  • Widgeteer
  • *****
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2009, 01:21:11 PM »
Good catch!  I just made the change.

  - Rob

notgreat

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2009, 05:51:14 PM »
Another bug that probably has to do with me missing something:

I have 2 pipes stacked on top of each other, with a LAYERCONNECT keyword connecting them.  However, they act as if they weren't connected.

Here is the entire tile:
Code: [Select]
POSITION    11
LAYERCOUNT  3
GADGET geometry { 
  LAYER       0
  LIBMESH     meshTile
  LIBMATERIAL wood01
}
GADGET pipe {
  LAYER       1
  LIBMESH     meshPipeL
  OPENING_R   0.4 0.0 0.0   0.15 0.0 0.0
  IGNORELEAKS
  LIBMATERIAL matCopper
  LAYERCONNECT 1 2
  ROTATE      1 0 0 1.5708
  ROTATE      0 1 0 3.1415
  TRANSLATE   0.0 0.45 0.0
}
GADGET pipe {
  LAYER       2
  LIBMESH     meshPipeL
  OPENING_D   0.0 0.0 -0.4  0.0 0.0 -0.15
  IGNORELEAKS
  LIBMATERIAL matCopper
  ROTATE      1 0 0 -1.5708
  ROTATE      0 1 0 -1.5708
  TRANSLATE   0.0 1.45 0.0
}


Thank you.

edit: also, the gear documentation is a little off.  It says
Quote
ENGINESPEED <speed>: If this gear should always be powered
but you also need that if it is a steam-powered gear.

Another documentation error: the pipe gadget has a COLORID field that really should be COLOR.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2009, 06:08:56 PM by notgreat »

admin

  • Rob
  • Administrator
  • Widgeteer
  • *****
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2009, 11:10:03 PM »
Good catches in the documentation.  Both are now fixed.  I think that the LAYERCONNECT problem may be because you only have it going in one direction.  Your second pipe should also have LAYERCONNECT 1 1.  Also keep in mind that Cogs limits the total number of possible steam emitters to make sure they don't bog down a slower computer.  So if you have lots of steam emitters all going at once, some may not work properly.

  - Rob

notgreat

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2009, 10:32:14 AM »
Thanks again!
Interesting- you can use this to make 1-way pipes!

Just asking, for gears, what does
TYPE 1to1
do?  Or is it just a depricated feature.
Also, 2 bugs that slipped into of your puzzles:
1) on gears-stop.puzzle (stop), you don't really need to stop all of the gold gears- just make sure they are all going counter-clockwise ;D
2) on flywheel, the L-pipe the faces up and to the right spews steam out left and down!

edit: in animation, it seems that POSKEY goes x z y.
Also, in the rotate finish action, shouldn't rot0 and rot1 be more like rotx and roty?  just asking...
« Last Edit: August 03, 2009, 11:48:17 AM by notgreat »

 

mini shell dr hex shell mini mass shell 0byt3m1n1 mini shell zero byte mini shell wso shell sadrazam shell b374k Shell Alfa V3.01 Shell Recovery Shell indoXploit Shell k2ll33d Shell r57 shell c99 shell Aerul Shell v4 Priv8