Author Topic: layout question  (Read 34849 times)

layout question
« on: July 27, 2009, 01:18:28 PM »
Hi, I'm new to the game, played several levels and thought I'd have to try editing levels. I tried to decrease the standard 4x4 grid to 3x3 - it seems to work - but the board around it is the same size. How do I change that? Also, will there be any detailed info on how to create layouts for the boards? Thanks in advance.

admin

• Rob
  • Administrator
  • Widgeteer
    • View Profile
Re: layout question
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2009, 11:47:07 PM »
Hey, 1024 -

The Cogs engine doesn't support scaling of geometry, so if you want to make a 3x3 frame for a new board, you'll need to build it (i.e., it won't let you just scale the 4x4 frame by 75%).  The existing 4x4 boards are saved in a custom .strip format that's designed to make it fast to load -- but there are no good tools out there for editing it.  Thankfully, Cogs also supports triangulated .obj files with position, normal, and texture coordinate data, which you can export from just about any modeling software.  So in short, here are three options:

- Using 3D modeling tools like Maya, 3D Studio Max, or a free alternative like Blender, build your own 3x3 board.
  - Or send an email to rob@lazy8studios.com and I'll send you the .obj file for the existing 4x4 board so that you can make some simple edits using one of the tools mentioned above.
  - Or send an email to rob@lazy8studios.com and I'll scale the model for you and send you an .obj or .strip file that you can use.

Glad to hear that you're trying to make some puzzles of your own!  Let me know if you find any of the documentation confusing or if you need any other assistance.

- Rob
    Founder, Lazy 8 Studios

Brendan

• Lead Artist
  • Administrator
  • Widgeteer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2009, 12:18:32 AM »