Author Topic: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?  (Read 6697 times)

notgreat

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« on: July 28, 2009, 03:49:42 PM »
I'm making a puzzle where pipes are stacked on top of one another, but not connected.  However, the finishcondition that I have (maximum 3 leaks) is failing to trigger.  In the solution, I have a layer 1 pipe with steam but the layer 2 pipe without- is this causing a bug, or is there something else I'm missing.  Attached is the puzzle file that I'm working on- just move the pipes down to get 2 leaks, but nothing happens.  Any help would be appreciated.

admin

  • Rob
  • Administrator
  • Widgeteer
  • *****
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2009, 11:54:58 PM »
The NUMLEAKS condition only gets triggered when the number of leaks is an exact match.  If you change it from 3 to 2, then everything works.  If you want to find a solution with either 2 OR 3 leaks, then you'll need to use an OR condition:
FINISHCONDITION or 2 {
  GROUP 1 {
    FINISHCONDITION leakcount {
      NUMLEAKS 2
    }
  }
  GROUP 1 {
    FINISHCONDITION leakcount {
      NUMLEAKS 3
    }
  }
}

I hope that's helpful.

  - Rob

notgreat

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2009, 10:58:36 AM »
Yes, thank you.  You might want to update your documentation though, because it says
"leakCount: Check for no more than the given number of allowed leaks."
which makes you think that it is a maximum.

Again, thank you for your help and for this excellent game!

admin

  • Rob
  • Administrator
  • Widgeteer
  • *****
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2009, 01:21:11 PM »
Good catch!  I just made the change.

  - Rob

notgreat

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2009, 05:51:14 PM »
Another bug that probably has to do with me missing something:

I have 2 pipes stacked on top of each other, with a LAYERCONNECT keyword connecting them.  However, they act as if they weren't connected.

Here is the entire tile:
Code: [Select]
POSITION    11
LAYERCOUNT  3
GADGET geometry { 
  LAYER       0
  LIBMESH     meshTile
  LIBMATERIAL wood01
}
GADGET pipe {
  LAYER       1
  LIBMESH     meshPipeL
  OPENING_R   0.4 0.0 0.0   0.15 0.0 0.0
  IGNORELEAKS
  LIBMATERIAL matCopper
  LAYERCONNECT 1 2
  ROTATE      1 0 0 1.5708
  ROTATE      0 1 0 3.1415
  TRANSLATE   0.0 0.45 0.0
}
GADGET pipe {
  LAYER       2
  LIBMESH     meshPipeL
  OPENING_D   0.0 0.0 -0.4  0.0 0.0 -0.15
  IGNORELEAKS
  LIBMATERIAL matCopper
  ROTATE      1 0 0 -1.5708
  ROTATE      0 1 0 -1.5708
  TRANSLATE   0.0 1.45 0.0
}


Thank you.

edit: also, the gear documentation is a little off.  It says
Quote
ENGINESPEED <speed>: If this gear should always be powered
but you also need that if it is a steam-powered gear.

Another documentation error: the pipe gadget has a COLORID field that really should be COLOR.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2009, 06:08:56 PM by notgreat »

admin

  • Rob
  • Administrator
  • Widgeteer
  • *****
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2009, 11:10:03 PM »
Good catches in the documentation.  Both are now fixed.  I think that the LAYERCONNECT problem may be because you only have it going in one direction.  Your second pipe should also have LAYERCONNECT 1 1.  Also keep in mind that Cogs limits the total number of possible steam emitters to make sure they don't bog down a slower computer.  So if you have lots of steam emitters all going at once, some may not work properly.

  - Rob

notgreat

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: possible bug when mult-layering pipes?
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2009, 10:32:14 AM »
Thanks again!
Interesting- you can use this to make 1-way pipes!

Just asking, for gears, what does
TYPE 1to1
do?  Or is it just a depricated feature.
Also, 2 bugs that slipped into of your puzzles:
1) on gears-stop.puzzle (stop), you don't really need to stop all of the gold gears- just make sure they are all going counter-clockwise ;D
2) on flywheel, the L-pipe the faces up and to the right spews steam out left and down!

edit: in animation, it seems that POSKEY goes x z y.
Also, in the rotate finish action, shouldn't rot0 and rot1 be more like rotx and roty?  just asking...
« Last Edit: August 03, 2009, 11:48:17 AM by notgreat »